On the Shelf

Like my Ninjas, I’m a big reader and I’m always on the lookout for another good book. I already shared my Ninjas’ favorite books with you, and I thought I’d share my current reading list too. However, I’d like to point out that this list has been growing ever since I’ve had Ninjas. Not that these books are boring, but I seem to fall asleep once I pick one up! These days I go through books a lot slower. Maybe I’ll fix that at our next base.

  • Clash of Kings – This is the second in the Game of Thrones series by George R. R. Martin. Awesome books. If you loved Lord of the Rings, this is right up your alley. Not to mention there’s a great T.V. show running, which is based on these books. Sad to say, I’ve been working on book two for over a year … Ninjas are keeping me busy.
  • Claude Monet’s Gardens at Giverny – This was a Christmas gift from the husband – he knows me so well. I’ve been a Monet fan since I was in elementary school. This book showcases his beautiful garden through the seasons. And it also looks great on a coffee table.
  • Pocket Parent – This is the book you need when crap hits the fan. It’s like Cliff Notes for parents, and since I’m a Mom and a Dad to my Ninjas right now, I need all the help I can get.
  • Audrey in Rome – This was another present from the husband. Again, he knows me so well. I’ve loved Audrey Hepburn since I first saw her in “Roman Holiday,” when I was in middle school. She was beautiful inside and out. Written by her second son, this book chronicles the time she spent in Rome during her life for movie roles, and marriages. Who doesn’t need a little Audrey in their life?
  • Faith Deployed – I’m a military spouse and sometimes you just need a little faith.
  • Wild Things: The Art of Nurturing Boys – My Ninjas are boys and I’m a girl. Sometimes I just don’t get their logic. And, since the husband isn’t around to tell me it’s normal for boys to be excited about the size of their poo, I have this book to tell me instead. Written by two psychologists who are, in fact, fathers to boys, I feel this book will end up saving me thousands of dollars in therapy appointments I won’t have to make.

There you have it, folks. What I’m reading now. There are about five or six more books on my Kindle too, but I’ll get into that later. What’s on your nightstand to read tonight? How do you find time to read?

Thank you for your lovely comments. I read and appreciate every single one!

