Skin Care Routine: Hits and Misses

Since coming back to the States, I’ve gone a bit crazy with skincare (good skin care is hard to come by on an 18 mile rock in the middle of an ocean). There’s much more than this stored under my bathroom sink, but I haven’t worked my way to those yet.

So, here it is – what I’m currently slathering on my body to delay the inevitable aging process. Posts like this are another guilty pleasure of mine because, quite honestly, I hate wasting money so I like to research a product and read multiple opinions before I buy it. Hopefully, you’ll find some interesting things in this post. Let’s get down to the nitty-gritty!

SKINOLOGY: Here’s the lowdown on my skin. I’m a 31 year old, Asian American (Filipino/White, if you’re curious) woman with oily/combination skin. I have a few wrinkles on my forehead, and a few acne scars from an odd cystic attack in my mid-20s (my husband was deployed – it was stressful). My complexion is dark olive with yellow undertones. These days, when I get the odd pimple, you know it long after it’s gone from the hyper-pigmentation left behind. And, finally, as a petite mother of two tall Ninjas, I have a plethora of sexy stretch marks in loads of interesting places.

Cleansers

  • Josie Maran Argan Cleansing Oil – I wish I’d discovered cleansing oils sooner. They’re so relaxing. This can be used as a daily cleanser, not just to remove makeup. I got this deluxe sample size about three months ago and it’s quite the experience. A little bit goes a long way. It’s all natural, and leaves your skin feeling nourished, not dry and tight when you rinse it off.  When I’m wearing war paint, I’ll use this first followed by a quick swipe of Bioderma (to make sure I didn’t miss anything) and I’m ready to throw on anything anti-aging.
  • Bioderma – The French are known for their superior skincare. As you may have guessed from that statement, Bioderma is a French product (a micelle solution, to be more specific), that I wish was sold in the U.S. Or, I wish American companies would start producing micelle waters. It is basically a very special water solution that takes off anything (even waterproof mascara), in the most gentle way. No need to dry or wash your face after, and no need for a toner (I’m not a fan of toners).
  • Aveeno Smart Essentials Daily Detoxifying Scrub – I go through different exfoliators like a revolving door. I like a good scrub, but I don’t want to feel like I’m taking scented sandpaper to slough off the day. I’ve been through so many drugstore exfoliators that are just too harsh and over-fragranced. This has a lovely, slightly coconutty scent and the exfoliants are tiny and very soft. A nice way to freshen up every day.

Masks

  • Michael Todd True Organics Pumpkin Mask – I discovered the Michael Todd line last year when I was pregnant with Ninja #2, and hunting for skin care that didn’t have too many strong chemicals in it. This feels like you’re feeding your skin. It moisturizes and plumps. And it smells like a pumpkin.
  • Michael Todd True Organics Charcoal Detox Mask – I like what this mask does, and it really does work. My pores are are sucked of their filth when I use this. But I hate the smell of it. I’ve heard people rave about the scent of this mask. When I smell it my mind connects it with the odor of a portable loo, or airplane bathroom. I only use this thing when I have to, and only because it does work.
  • DISCOUNT ALERT!! Michael Todd True Organics is running a 15% discount on your entire order (code: WELCOME15). Plus, most orders are tax free. Have fun!
  • REN Glycol Lactic Radiance Renewal Mask – I’m currently using a deluxe sample size of this and will seriously consider purchasing a full size when I’m done. This stuff is awesome and has definitely helped with any hyper-pigmentation I’ve had lingering around, along with a few fine lines. When you wake up the morning after using this your skin looks amazing. That’s not an exaggeration.

Moisturizer 

  • Olay Total Effects 7 in One Moisturizer + Serum Duo SPF 15 – My relationship with day moisturizers is like with exfoliators. There are so many in my past. I picked this up since I was on the hunt for a new one. It moisturizes and gives me the basic SPF (although I prefer at least SPF 30), but I haven’t noticed anything earth shattering develop from my use of it. Probably won’t be a re-purchase.
  • Olay Regenerist Night Cream – My search for the perfect night cream is never-ending too. This stuff does a decent job with fine lines. It’s not too heavy, which is nice, and it has a light fragrance. But, I’m moving on to other things. We’ll see what’s in my future once I finish this tub.
  • Josie Maran 100 Percent Pure Argan Oil – I have the deluxe sample size of this (it came with the cleansing oil), and it’s fantastic. Like the cleansing oil, it’s all natural, nourishes and heals, and a little bit goes a long way. This can be used on its own or with a night cream (although I’ve only tried it on its own, and I wake up with crazy beautiful glowing skin). When I run out, I’ll definitely be repurchasing.
  • Olay Total Effects Eye Treatment – I haven’t used an eye cream since my early college years, so I’m re-learning what I like. This isn’t it. It moisturizes and it’s not too heavy or oily, but I haven’t noticed much of a difference in my laugh lines around my eyes after one month of use. I’ll be moving on once I finish this pot.

Body

  • The Body Shop Honeymania Body Scrub – This purchase was a treat. I haven’t had a Body Shop product for at least five years because of where the military has sent us, and I’m a huge fan of their body butters and lip butters, but I thought I’d try something new. The Honeymania scent is floral, but very light and reminds me a bit of a honeysuckle. The scrub itself is made of teeny tiny exfoliants that feel very gentle on the skin. Once I finish this tub, I might look into other scents in their scrub line when I need to pamper myself.
  • Bio-Oil – Stretch marks are supposed to be hereditary, but apparently not in my case. My mom made it through her pregnancies without a single one. I was not so lucky. I chose quite a tall man for my tiny self. We make tall babies (ahem, Ninja #1 often gets confused for a 5 or 6 year old). Throughout both of my pregnancies I used Palmer’s Cocoa Butter for Stretch Marks, because that was all they had on the islands we lived on. Obviously, Palmer’s didn’t stop my stretch marks, but it did quell the itch. Last month I discovered Bio-Oil, and it seems to be smoothing things out already. I’m not expecting miracles (thank goodness I’m married to a man who is evolved enough and loves my body for the journey it has been through), but I’m hoping for the best.

That’s it for this skin care edition. What are you using that I might be interested in?

2 comments

Thank you for your lovely comments. I read and appreciate every single one!

