Notes for my Ninjas

In honor of National Reading Month, I picked up a new book for me and my Ninjas to share. Although, let’s face it, my reading list, past and present, is miles long. March just gave me an excuse to add another book to my beloved pile.

My new read, “Notes for a Young Prince,” was written by a father for his two sons. The father is, in fact, a real prince. HSH Prince Alexi Lubomirski wrote each note to help his sons grow into the princes they should be – full of love, generosity, kindness and understanding. Lubomirski further sets the example by donating all proceeds from the book to the charity Concern Worldwide.

While I did buy this book for my Ninjas, it was also for me. You don’t have to be male or a child to appreciate and learn from the tidbits of gentle guidance this book offers. Here are a few of my favorites  so far:

DSC01468

“Treat everyone with RESPECT, from the richest, to the poorest person on the street.”

“Take RESPONSIBILITY for your actions. When you succeed, be happy and share your joy with others. When you fail, blame no one else.”

“Be RESPECTFUL to women.”

“Be CHIVALROUS at all times. Stand up when introduced to women. Open doors for them, help carry their belongings, and protect them from harm.”

“COMMON COURTESY: ‘Please’ and ‘thank you’ can never be overused.”

Reading through this book, you can feel the love and hope Lubomirski put into each note for his sons. It’s what any father or mother would want their child to understand about life, and that is simply to appreciate and love everything and everyone around you, including yourself.

What can I say? This book makes my heart smile, and that’s always a good thing.

What are you reading for National Reading Month?

 

 

One comment

Thank you for your lovely comments. I read and appreciate every single one!

