If You Buy One Thing This Month, Ladies …

I’ve been on the hunt for a new foundation lately because my usual is a tad too light for me right now. Via the Sephora website, I browsed through the available mineral makeup and came across Tarte’s Amazonian Clay Airbrush Foundation. My curiosity was piqued. The reviews said it was good. So good. In fact, for a mom of Ninjas, Tarte’s mineral foundation is an airbrushed dream like no other. Here’s the nitty-gritty.

DSC01566

It’s quick to apply. Under a minute and I’m done – more time to spend with my Ninjas (or less time to leave them running amok, depending on your point of view)! I use the Airbuki for application, and that seems to work best. The name of that makeup brush weirds me out for some reason, but the thing works. I did try application with my BareMinerals brush and the results were not even close to the full-coverage I got with the Airbuki. Sometime during the application process, what starts out as splotches of powder on your face suddenly turns into something magical. Smooth, full coverage. And you’re skin looks naked (but in a good way – like naked in good lighting). I submit photographic evidence below:

DSC01576

 

This pic was taken after a full day of entertaining Ninjas. You might not know it, but Tarte is hiding a lot. Hyper-pigmentation from a couple of recent, hormonal pimples, redness around my nose, and a few old acne scars. Not to mention dark circles under my eyes from limited sleep (Ninjas keep you up at night – especially when they’re teething).

I’d also like to mention that my husband, from far-far away, even commented on how lovely my makeup looked  via Skype, just a few hours before this picture was taken. It is possible his video was slightly pixelated, or his camera may have been a bit smudged, no matter, it feels good thinking I looked decent from so far away.

I’m wearing the shade Medium-Tan Sand, a perfect match. Yes, that alone is magical. We all know one of the most challenging things in a woman’s life (besides giving birth, finding the perfect man, developing self-confidence despite illogical societal standards, and establishing world peace) is finding the right shade of foundation. The shade descriptions on Sephora’s website were very helpful for me.

This is a long-wearing foundation that feels like nothing. Things get better and better throughout the day as this stuff melts into your skin (weird, I know, but there’s no other way to put it). Shine is not an issue for my oily-combo complexion (I refer you to the above picture). My skin looks fresh and dewy by the end of the day. As for mess, it’s a loose powder, there will be mess if you’re not careful.

Ladies, if you’re busy with life (or Ninjas), but you still want to look good whilst being busy, give this a try. It makes me feel pretty, which makes it a winner!

 

6 comments

Thank you for your lovely comments. I read and appreciate every single one!

