My Tardy Ways

I’m a bit behind with my posts, I know. Please forgive me, but I’ve been prancing about with Ninjas, and working on this and that. Let me catch you up on what I’ve been up to for the past week.

My Baymax!

My Baymax!

1.  BIG HERO 6 (a.k.a. the most EPIC movie for a growing Ninja):

I didn’t know much about this movie prior to seeing it (yes, I live under a rock – busy watching Ninjas, you know), but it’s a fantastic movie for younger superheroes-in-training. The movie follows a young boy named Hiro (child genius), and a squishy robotic nurse named Baymax (prepared to aid anyone who cries out in pain). Together they share a number of adventures and help young viewers understand how to heal anger and emotional hurt with kindness and empathy. It also encourages children to nourish their own uniqueness and take pride in it. By the end of the movie, I was crying, and smiling, and Ninja #1 was running around asking me to make him Baymax – so I did. Ninja #1 specifically requested Baymax’s squishy belly be included in the costume, so I had to improvise with a pillow. I must say, I’m proud. Ninja #1 now runs around asking me to say “Ow!” so he can fix me. It makes my heart smile! IMG_0656_2 2.  I made a quilt (sourced through the ever-addictive Pinterest) – complete with wonky seams. It’s my first, and firsts are never all we dream them to be, are they? It’s only throw-size, and if I venture to make another (I will eventually), I’ll be sewing those final seams by hand (my sewing machine is a bit small for so much fabric, apparently). So, it’s finished, and I’m proud. I haven’t used it yet, but I did throw it over my husband one cold night and asked him if it made him cozy-warm. He said yes. He might have been humoring me though … IMG_0694 3.  Laundry! Yes, it doesn’t sound like much, but when you’re behind it becomes the most tedious process known to woman. Fortunately, I had help. I bribed him with Nutella. Mwahahahahaa!!!!! IMG_0698 4.  And then came Valentine’s Day … My sweethearts and I baked sweets. They didn’t look that great, but they tasted awesome and they were full of love. IMG_0811 5.  And finally, I’m knitting a throw blanket, because my quilt is just not enough. I actually plan on knitting and sewing several throws (everybody gets one!), because I can’t bring myself to spend $40 on one in the store, when I can make one for slightly less. Besides, I make my throws with love – wonky seams and all!  This throw is a very easy double-seed (because I really don’t have time to focus my mind and count stitches when I’m watching Ninjas). I got the pattern from Pinterest (where else?). You should know that I’m not the world’s best knitter – gauge goes out the window with me. I generally don’t bother with it because I’m always off. If you’re new to knitting and would like to try this, don’t let it scare you. There are plenty of YouTube videos to walk you through every single step. I didn’t have the yarn recommended for the throw, and I didn’t want to order it, so I raided JoAnn’s for something similar and this is what I came back with: Lion Brand Wool-Ease Chunky in Silver Grey (3 skeins (a.k.a. yarn rolls), but I’ll be heading back for 5 more because it looks like it will take the 8 skeins the pattern calls for to get the right length). My JoAnn’s didn’t have the circular knitting needles, so I came home with Clover Bamboo’s longest US13 they had (I prefer the bamboo needles over the aluminum – fewer slipped stitches for me). It’s working out fine so far (haven’t slipped a stitch yet!). Follow me on Pinterest and see all my crafty ambitions on my “Getting’ Crafty” board.

So, I’ve been busy with life! It’s my only excuse for a tardy post. Please accept my humblest apologies and let me know how life has been keeping you busy! Can’t wait to hear from you!

Thank you for your lovely comments. I read and appreciate every single one!

